Minutes of the urgent Meeting of the Senate held on $14^{\rm th}$ July 2006 at 04.00 P.M. in the Senate Hall of the Institute.

The following were present: -

1.	Prof. S.C.Saxena, Director	- Chairman
2.	Prof. H.K.Verma, Dy. Director	
3.	Prof. G.S. Randhawa	(Biotechnology)
4.	Prof. B.M.J. Periera	(Biotechnology)
5.	Prof. R.P. Singh	(Biotechnology)
6.	Prof. I.M. Mishra	(Chemical Engineering)
7.	Prof. Bikash Mohanty	(Chemical Engineering)
8.	Prof. Shri Chand	(Chemical Engineering)
9.	Prof. I.D. Mall	(Chemical Engineering)
10.	Prof. G. Bhattacharya	(Chemistry)
11.	Prof. Ravi Bhushan	(Chemistry)
12.	Prof. V.K. Gupta	(Chemistry)
13.	Prof. Anil Kumar	(Chemistry)
14.	Prof. (Mrs) Mala Nath	(Chemistry)
15.	Prof. S.M. Sondhi	(Chemistry)
16.	Prof. G.L.Asawa	(Civil Engineering)
17.	Prof. A.K. Jain	(Civil Engineering)
18.	Prof. N.M.Bhandari	(Civil Engineering)
19.	Prof. K.K. Singh	(Civil Engineering)
20.	Prof. S.S. Jain	(Civil Engineering)
21.	Prof. (Mrs) Renu Bhargava	(Civil Engineering)
22.	Prof. P.K. Garg	(Civil Engineering)
23.	Prof. Pradeep Bhargava	(Civil Engineering)
24.	Prof. Satish Chandra	(Civil Engineering)
25.	Prof. D.K.Paul	(Earthquake Engineering)
26.	Prof. H. R. Wason	(Earthquake Engineering)
27.	Prof. A.K. Awasthi	(Earth Sciences)
28.	Prof. A.K. Saraf	(Earth Sciences)
29.	Prof. H.O. Gupta	(Electrical Engineering)
30.	Prof. S.P.Gupta	(Electrical Engineering)
31.	Prof. S. Mukherjee	(Electrical Engineering)
32.	Prof. (Mrs.) Kum Kum Garg	(Electronics & Computer Engg.)
33.	Prof. Padam Kumar	(Electronics & Computer Engg.)
34.	Prof. Pashupati Jha	(Humanities & Social Sciences)
35.	Prof. D.K.Nauriyal	(Humanities & Social Sciences)
36.	Prof. (Ms) Asha Kapoor	(Humanities & Social Sciences)
37.	Prof. (Ms) Renu Rastogi	(Humanities & Social Sciences)
38.	Prof. A.K. Ray	(Paper Technology)
39.	Prof. J.S. Upadhyay	(Paper Technology)
40.	Prof. V.P.Singh	(Paper Technology)
41.	Prof. G. S. Srivastava	(Mathematics)

		•
42.	Prof. S.P. Sharma	(Mathematics)
43.	Prof. T.R. Gulati	(Mathematics)
44.	Prof. (Mrs) Rama Bhargava	(Mathematiacs)
45.	Prof. R.C. Mittal	(Mathematics)
46.	Prof. V.K. Katiyar	(Mathematics)
47.	Prof. Sunita Gakkhar	(Mathematics)
48.	Prof. Satya Prakash	(Metallurgical & Material Engg.)
49.	Prof. S. K.Nath	(Metallurgical & Material Engg.)
50.	Prof. Ravindra Nath	(Physics)
51.	Prof. A.K.Jain	(Physics)
52.	Prof. G.S. Singh	(Physics)
53.	Prof. Rajesh Srivastava	(Physics)
54.	Prof. Vir Singh	(Physics)
55.	Prof. S.K. Tripathi	(WRD&M)
56.	Prof. Ram Pal Singh	(WRD&M)
57.	Prof. Ashwani K. Chaudhary	(Institute Instrumentation Centre)
58.	Mr. Arun Kumar	Head, AHEC
59.	Mr. R.K. Jain,	Associate Dean of Students Welfare
60.	Mr. Yogendra Singh	Librarian
61.	Dr. R.P. Saini	Chief Warden, Cautley Bhawan
62.	Dr. Rashmi Gaur	(Humanities & Social Sciences)
63.	Dr. Manoj Arora	(Civil Engineering)
64.	Dr. Ajay Gairola	(Civil Engineering)
65.	Mr. Prashant Garg, Actg. Regi	strar - Secretary

The Chairman welcomed the members to the urgent Meeting of the Senate. He stated that this urgent meeting of the Senate has been convened for consideration of the date of Annual Convocation of the Institute.

Before taking up the agenda items, the Senate thanked Prof. R.N. Mishra, Department of Electrical Engineering, an outgoing member and recorded its appreciation for his valuable contribution in the meetings of the Senate.

The Senate also welcomed the under- mentioned new members and hoped for their valuable contribution and active participation in its functioning:

- 1. Prof. Pradeep Bhargava, Department of Civil Engineering
- 2. Prof. Satish Chandra, Department of Civil Engineering
- 3. Prof. S.K.Nath, Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

Communications were received from the following members for not attending the meeting:

- 1. Prof. Karmeshu, J.N.U. Delhi
- 2. Prof. R.N.Goyal, Dean, PGS&R
- 3. Prof. H. Sinvhal, Department of Earth Sciences.
- 4. Dr. M.R.Maurya, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
- 5. Prof. Jagdish Rai, Physics Department

The agenda was then taken up.

Item No. 1 To consider the date and month for holding the Annual Convocation of the Institute.

At the outset, the Director (Chairman) of the Senate briefed the Senate about the need for a change of the date of the Convocation from September to another month. The Senate examined all pros and cons of the issue that is, the weather conditions in September, the examination schedule, the Inter IIT Sports Meet, convenience of the students and faculty, and Senate decided that the Annual Convocation of the Institute be held in the month of November every year.

The Senate FURTHER DECIDED that the date of the Annual Convocation of the Institute be finalised by 15th July each year, by taking into consideration all the aspects mentioned above.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair

MEETING SECTION INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY ROORKEE

No. IITR/MS/Urgent Senate/777

Dated 19th July 2006

Copy forwarded to all members of the Senate with the remark that the comments, if any, on the minutes may please be sent to the undersigned within 15 days.

(A.K.Srivastava)

Lt. Col. (Retd)

Registrar

19 JUL 2006